Can’t Stop Procrastin-eating?

Oh man, I’m with you. Let’s commiserate (commiser-eat?).

25minutesaday
2 min readJul 25, 2021
Photo by Rachel Park on Unsplash

I’m staying alone in a friend’s home for a few weeks, for what I intended to set aside as a solo writing retreat. It’s been a lot of solo snacking, with brief writing breaks in between.

For the last year and a half I have been working on a book which, in my disorganization (see: scattered) and excitement (“I want to write about everything!”), is essentially a mess of papers and post it notes and ramblingly incoherent files on Scrivener. I tried to make order of it, and ended up with half finished spreadsheets and entire folders dedicated to the ‘About,’ without any content added. I knew I needed to sit down to look through what there is, and begin to pull pieces out from the mess and bring them into the world. And I needed to get out of my own space, especially once COVID restrictions ended and the things around me burst back into action.

So I am here, alone in a home with piles of papers and a pantry of snacks.

Here are some things that have become clear:

  1. I am afraid of this project
  2. And I’m meeting internal resistance.
  3. Plus perfectionist tendencies that amplify anxiety.
  4. Shaming myself or feeling guilty is like hitting myself. Yael, stop hitting yourself.
  5. It’s okay to procrastinate. And it’s okay to eat.
  6. This is a learning process. It’s a practice.
  7. How can I be kind to myself?
  8. Pause, breathe.
  9. Listen to some music. Do a little dance.
  10. And if you eat, enjoy it. It’s a wonderful thing to have something delicious.

&& slowly slowly, the writing beats onward.

Back to the book! For now, this has been twenty five minutes.

--

--