How do you rebuild yourself?

It’s a practice, always.

25minutesaday
2 min readJul 22, 2021

Twenty five minutes, it’s a small thing, a short amount of time; and it’s a Big thing, because it is part of a commitment.

Commitment, practice, and intention.

These are the things that help us rebuild ourself from broken places.

It happens to so many of us. We are living our lives one way, and then something changes — externally, internally, physically; whatever it is, it has shattered what we once thought to be true. We can’t continue the same way anymore. We try at first, we try and we protest against the new reality. Except maybe the shattering is a shell cracking apart. It is an opening to different ways of being.

When I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis, something shattered. It wasn’t the diagnosis that broke me, the cracks were there already. Except now the cracks were splitting apart, and I didn’t know what to do. I stopped doing. I sat with the shards, I released the shell.

I stopped the doings. I began to take care of the seed within, and slowly slowly it grew, it is growing still.

And now, slowly slowly I am learning to Do again. It starts with the small things.

(It’s a practice, in twenty five minutes).

--

--