Start Small, Go Steady, Write Something.

Three months later, and I’m still at it. This is how I keep my word to myself.

25minutesaday
2 min readOct 2, 2021
Photo by Héctor J. Rivas on Unsplash

Another day, another post. This is the promise I made for myself, and I have to keep it.

I just spent who-knows-how-much time scrolling articles on Medium instead of writing.

I just ate who-knows-how-many snacks while wandering around the kitchen instead of writing.

I just started 5? 6? other drafts, to be added to the ever-growing repository of unfinished articles.

I don’t want to do this, and I do. I don’t want to write today, I don’t want to post something, it’s all shit and every form of resistance and avoidance and self-sabotaging behavior pattern and belief is coming on strong.

Why I Write

I need to. It is that simple. I need to write. This is how I relate to and make sense of the world. It is how I express myself, and meet myself. There are more reasons — professional, interpersonal, aspirational and beyond.

I write because I need to.

Why I Write Here Daily

Practice and process, baby! That’s what it’s all about.

But seriously. It is a practice, a training. I need to write, and so I need to learn how to write. I wish I could write the way I do in my head (poignantly, brilliantly), but alas this is not the case (yet).

This is more than a practice in writing.

I am training myself to overcome perfectionism and put things out in the world, always imperfect and often unfinished.

It’s a practice in acceptance, and humility. This is who I am, this is what I have to say. Here are the words that I write.

& That’s twenty five minutes.

--

--